/ IB World Schools

Break Down of the IB School Curriculum

The International Baccalaureate Programme is one of the best boards and offers high quality international education. It is currently present in over 150 countries and offers three programmes.
They are Primary Year Programme (PYP), Middle Year Programme (MYP) and Diploma Programme (DP) Given below is the basic break down of the three programmes.

1. Primary Year Programme (PYP)
The PYP is a student centered programme for children aged 3 – 12 and focuses on nurturing and developing young students into caring, active participants in the journey of learning.The PYP offers an inquiry-based, transdisciplinary curriculum framework with the aim of building conceptual understanding. PYP provides a framework that is transformational and continues to meet the initial aims of developing internationally-minded people who recognize their common humanity and shared guardianship of the planet.

The framework emphasizes on the following three aspects of school life-
(a) the learner
(b) learning and teaching.
(c) the learning community

2. Middle Year Programme (MYP)
The Middle Years Programme (MYP) is for students aged 11-16. The MYP is a challenging framework that encourages students to make practical connections between their studies and the real world. The MYP is a five-year programme and comprises of 8 subject groups.
They are-
(a)language acquisition
(b)language and literature
(c)individuals and societies
(d)sciences, mathematics
(f)health and physical education.

Each year, students in the MYP also engage in at least one jointly planned interdisciplinary unit that involves at least two subjects. MYP students also complete a long term project, where they focus on figuring out what they want to learn about, identify what they already know, discovering what they will need to know to complete the project, and create a proposal or criteria for completing it.

3. Diploma Programme (DP)
The Diploma Programme (DP) is for students aged 16-19. The curriculum is made up of six subject groups and the DP core, comprising theory of knowledge (TOK), creativity, activity, service (CAS) and the extended essay. Through the Diploma Programme (DP) core, students reflect on the nature of knowledge, complete independent research and undertake a project that often involves community service.

They have three core elements-
(a) theory of knowledge
(b) extended essay
(c) creativity, activity and service
Students will take some subjects at higher level (HL) and some at standard level (SL). HL and SL courses differ in scope but are measured according to the same grade descriptors, with students expected to demonstrate a greater body of knowledge, understanding and skills at higher level. Each student takes at least three (but not more than four) subjects at higher level, and the remaining at standard level.

The IB is a very challenging curriculum and sometimes you require the help of an expert tutor to help you score the best grade. Vidyalai.com provides live online one to one classes from the comfort of your home, with the best IB teachers. We guarantee 100% satisfaction or your first lesson is completely free. Request your first lesson now!

Break Down of the IB School Curriculum
Share this